First Ever Attempt - Dwarf Hinokki

Post photo's of your bonsai under-construction for discussion and inspiration.
dannykc83
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Chameocyparis Obtusa
Bonsai Age: 0
Bonsai Club: none

First Ever Attempt - Dwarf Hinokki

Post by dannykc83 »

I have just been bought a Dwarf Hinokki and would like to document the development of its growth on here. I am a complete novice so would kindly appreciate any help or advice that the community can give. So day one I have spent a short time researching a little about the tree. The label read the species type as "Chameocyparis obtusa" then underneath the description is Cv ''Chabo Yadari" but through googling I found it to be more commonly known as a Dwarf Hinokki. The instructions say that it needs to be kept outdoors or in partial shade or in warmer months kept indoors for short periods of time. I have found a nice shaded spot in my back garden with light shining onto it when the sun is high and have sprayed it with water. My aim is to turn this into a bonsai tree but at the minute it looks quite young so my first question is do you think i need to let it grow and get bigger first or should i begin to start with the pruning and wiring? Also how often do i need to water at this stage? Any other advice you may have is welcome!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: First Ever Attempt - Dwarf Hinokki

Post by shibui »

Hi Danny,
I suspect that your tree has been mislabelled which is not uncommon with the commercial volume suppliers of these little 'mallsai'
I have not grown 'Chabo Yadari' so I may possibly be wrong but Chamaecyparis should have flattened fans of foliage This one looks much more like Cryptomeria - Japanese cedar. You can still grow it as bonsai.