Prunus dulcis..Almond in flower.

Post photo's of your bonsai under-construction for discussion and inspiration.
bodhidharma
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: English Elm
Bonsai Age: 24
Bonsai Club: goldfields

Prunus dulcis..Almond in flower.

Post by bodhidharma »

Sorry i have been A.W.O.L and have not been contributing much of late. My world outside of Bonsai has become unbearably busy. Still, i cannot help but post my Almond which has excelled itself this year to make me happy i am a Bonsai Artist, and i smile every time i walk up to photograph it. Its story so far..It was collected five years ago from a back yard bulldoze at a friends place. Its height was 6-7 metres and very unhealthy from no attention whatsoever. We dug it with a backhoe and i reduced its height and placed it in a grow box. It zoomed back to life. With further height reduction i then ripped the tree in half with a couple of strong companions to alleviate the graft swell at its base. I then started to plan its design which i had given a lot of thought, and set in motion what you see now. It took four years to create the top main branches and the tree has rewarded me with flowers and also Almonds. The pot (which i had secured a while ago for another tree) was used for this tree at the suggestion of Quentin Valentine. The photos might be a little long winded but i wanted to show the changing moods of the tree during bud swell. Future plans will be to finish the carving and ramification of the branches which you see here. Patience, patience, patience. :whistle:
The trees dimensions are..Height 800mm width at base 160mm :
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by bodhidharma on August 11th, 2011, 1:57 pm, edited 3 times in total.
"Advice is rarely welcome, and the one's who need it the most welcome it the least"
kvan64
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: black pine
Bonsai Age: 16