PIMP MY BONSAI

Post your bonsai for critique by members. Virtual designs and restyles are encouraged.
Macros
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Elm/Maple
Bonsai Age: 10

PIMP MY BONSAI

Post by Macros »

Hey There fellow Bonsaiers,
I am fairly new to Aus Bonsai. I have a slight styling issue with a Hinoki Cypress
I hhave had in my collection for a few years. I bought it cheap about 4 years ago as pot stock from a nursery because I though it was a bargain for $30.00 as the person that worked there had been there for a long while, and remembers it from when they started about 9 years prior.
Sadly, I have been toying with a few ideas, but none of them seem to grab me. This year I feel it is high time to do a bit of work to it? But what?
I am hoping that a few of you could help me out with a possible virt to help this poor thing along?? :(

I hope the pic is good enough to work with??

Pweeeeeese help me :(

Thanks,
Mac
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Has it ever made you wonder, who was the first person to say " See that cow..... I'm going to pull on those pink dangelly things....and drink what ever comes out" ?
Elias
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0
Bonsai Club: 0

Re: PIMP MY BONSAI

Post by Elias »

Hi Mac,
Hinoki cypress are a tricky species to work with as they don't backbud on hardwood, they can be very thirsty tree unlike other conifers, needing a bright spot, but direct strong sun can damage their foliage, without the adequate lighting you can get a lot of dieback of foliage or even worse branches. Their soft foliage can also be tricky to maintain, I think the key is to remember to continually pinch in growing season otherwise you get leggy branches.