Maple Grove that needs a game plan

Post your bonsai for critique by members. Virtual designs and restyles are encouraged.
jimmyle
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Maple Grove that needs a game plan

Post by jimmyle »

i am new to this thread and i am from the US. ive been reading around here and found some great information so i decided that this was a good community where i can ask for some advice on my bonsai. i have a Japanese Maple grove with 11 trees that i bought about a month ago. it has been doing pretty well and the shape of it is pretty nice but i think it has potential to be much nicer.

IMG_4553.JPG
IMG_4555.JPG

i have just started this bonsai hobby a just a few months ago and already i am just crazy about them and ive been reading everything there is about the art of bonsai. this is the biggest bonsai i have right now and by far the nicest one i have so i dont want to start pruning without seeing my end product first. it is a little overwhelming to me to look at this bonsai becuase i just have no clue on how to style it. can anyone help me out here? i need to figure out a shape and figure out how to train this bonsai. so any help at all will be appreciated.

thanks jimmy
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Shannon
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ficus, Clerodendrum
Bonsai Age: 25
Bonsai Club: Canberra, Sunshine Coast, BCI

Re: Maple Grove that needs a game plan

Post by Shannon »

H'i Jimmy and welcome , Your maples definitely have the potential of becoming a nice group setting. May I suggest getting two books must have books, Bonsai techniques 1 and 2 both witten by John Naka famous american bonsai master (you have probably heard of him) . I think vol 2 has all about group planting / forests, I would explain the fundamentals but my fingers might ware out typing.