Newbie, need help with azalea please

Post your bonsai for critique by members. Virtual designs and restyles are encouraged.
Bruntyblue
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Not sure yet
Bonsai Age: 1

Newbie, need help with azalea please

Post by Bruntyblue »

Ok here we go, this azalea has been potted in this large pot for at least 15 yrs and is over 30 yrs old, (my partner has grown it from garden centre stock). Now she has given me permission to attempt to bonsai it :cool: Question 1 is how much do I trim the roots? should I trim and go to a smaller pot for a year or so or go hard and trim for a bonsai pot straight up? Question 2 is it worth taking cuttings from when it gets chopped down to size, and Question 3 is where to chop? I am a newbie to bonsai, but have a decent green-thumb in the garden so am willing to have a go, Some virts on where to chop would be much appreciated.
Height is 500mm from soil to top of plant
it is 125mm to bend in trunk
pot it is in is 170mm high and 300mm across the top.

Looking forward to any replies and suggestions for this baby.

Rob
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Newbie, need help with azalea please

Post by shibui »

Haven't we already done this Mate :?: - viewtopic.php?f=132&t=18259
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
deepeetee
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Aust. Natives
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Central Coast, NSW

Post by deepeetee »

Bruntyblue,
On your previous post Shibui gave a couple of really good pieces of advice.
I would be waiting till after they have expelled all of their flowers. Or you can pluck them. Then remove the shoot part that the flower came from.
As the Azaleas will have used a lot of energy with those flowers, before anything, ensure they are well fed and in good health.