Trident- twin trunk.

Post your bonsai for critique by members. Virtual designs and restyles are encouraged.
Brian
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Radiata pine
Bonsai Age: 31
Bonsai Club: AusBonsai

Trident- twin trunk.

Post by Brian »

IMG_1666.JPG
This is a tree that I have been working on since 1987. Its a trident maple that was actually 3 small trees that was platted together and grown over a piece of ironstone.

Please forgive the appalling wiring job. Sorry the pictures are not very clear, but the second photo has a pair of branch cutters next to the trunk so you can get a sense of size.

Comments and critiques welcome.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Trident- twin trunk.

Post by shibui »

These trunks have excellent character and the movement of both trunks compliment each other really well. Hiro noted that multi trunk trees are not really very common in Japan because of the added difficulty each extra trunk adds to getting it right but these work really well.
I note that these trees have a bit of thickening in the upper parts of the trunk. Quite a few of my tridents and Japanese maples have similar. I think it takes great care in the development phase to prevent this in maples.

Overall an excellent specimen.
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
treeman
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: any
Bonsai Age: 25

Post by treeman »

Brian, I'm going to be the bringer of bad news. (but there is good news too)
The good news is that the base of this tree has very good character and high quality.