New Guinea Privet - group planting

Post your bonsai for critique by members. Virtual designs and restyles are encouraged.
The Surgeon
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pinus & Figs
Bonsai Age: 11
Bonsai Club: Geelong

New Guinea Privet - group planting

Post by The Surgeon »

Hi all

Just looking for some advice on group plantings. I have never done a group planting before. I picked this up yesterday from some guy selling potted plants from the road side. This one it pot bound with thickish roots coming out the drainage holes. The tag on the tree says New Guinea Private. Also has "harmful if eaten" printed on the tag :crikey:

Before I chop I'd thought I'd ask for advice on group plantings. Tips, tricks and pitfalls to avoid. Slab or tray type pot?

Most trunks are very straight past the 30cm height mark but there are a few interesting trunks.

Thanks in advance for the help
The Surgeon
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Re: New Guinea Privet - group planting

Post by The Surgeon »

Apologies, photos didn't upload from phone??
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

General guidelines for good groups include:
* Trunks should vary in thickness and height. Groups usually look best when thicker trees are also taller.
* Make the spaces between trunks different. We have a tendency to plant trees at regular spacing which makes the group look like a park rather than a forest. If you leave most of the clump as it is there will probably already be random spacing.
* Trunk shapes should be in harmony. If the main tree is straight then the others should also be relatively straight. If the main tree is curved, other trees should echo that curve to look good.