Corky bark elm styling

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
pebble
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: JBP
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Illawarra Bonsai Society

Corky bark elm styling

Post by pebble »

Hey guys n girls, haven't wrote a post in awhile because haven't been doing much new with any of my trees other than keeping them alive.

So I bought this pretty cool corky bark elm recently from bonsai south.
thought I would ask everyone's advice on styling?
So far here is where I'm at.

Informal upright
Pretty sure this will be the front

All I have done so far is just cleaned out the inside of the tree.

Thinking my next step is to try and develop foliage pads. just hopping I don't stuff it up.

ImageImageImageImage

Cheers dwayne

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
im a total newb
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Corky bark elm styling

Post by shibui »

It appear the trunk comes toward the front then away in your chosen front Pebble? Not sure that that gives a good view. Try looking at it from about where the bottle is in the first picture and see if that's any better.

There are far too many branches in the canopy so developing foliage pads will probably consist mostly of removing branches in between the ones you want to keep. Leaving lots of branches like this will soon cause the trunk to thicken in undesirable places. Try to have your chosen branches spaced as far apart on the trunk as possible so they don't contribute to local thickening.
just hopping I don't stuff it up.