Japanese Maple

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
Reklaw
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 1

Japanese Maple

Post by Reklaw »

Hi Ausbonsai Community!

Long time lurker first time poster! I've been learning a lot from reading current and old post on this forum and also been inspired by a lot of your fantastic trees.

I've started Bonsai in the last 4 months as a tool assist with post military life and the associated baggage one leaves with. I have a few trees im just trying to keep alive and simply care for like a child trying to ensure their development is sound!

I am however at a point with my Japanese Maple where I am in need of some advice. I am a novice and have found some subjective opinions, some contradicting opinions and some just confusing! So i do appreciate all advice given but will ask that those who are going to roll their eyes, groan and offload their double barrel in my direction to remember we all had to start somewhere! :cool:

So I've had this Maple for approx 3 months over which time all I've done is water it and prune it high to try and thicken the trunk low. It was sitting in full sun all day, however with the hot dry and windy days I've had in my area i was experiencing, what i believe to be, a lot of leaf burn. So I've since moved it to an area where it gets the morning sun from 6-11am, then move it to a shady area out of the wind. Seems to have done the trick as i no longer have black tips of leaves or dead ones.