Help with japanese maples

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
bazron
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maples
Bonsai Age: 0

Help with japanese maples

Post by bazron »

Just got my hands on 5 Japanese maples im going to stick them in the ground and grow them for afew years as they are only tiny thin sticks at the moment.

The question i have is should i sort out the roots first and plant them on some tiles now or wait till i dig them up in a year or 2 and do it then?

I have had trident maples in the past but lost interest and moved on. I have very little experience but im wanting to give it another go. Any advice would be very appreciated!

Aaron..
Nate.bonsai
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: JBP
Bonsai Age: 10

Re: Help with japanese maples

Post by Nate.bonsai »

I think that you should take the first opportunity to get the roots right, rather than let them go wrong for 2 years and then have to cut back and start again. Start from the bottom and work your way up and all that...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Boics
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Banksia, Syzygium, Cotoneaster. Leptospermum
Bonsai Age: 7

Post by Boics »

At this time of the year I wouldn't be too agressive in cutting the roots.
However arranging to remove crossed and a very minor trim of larger dominant roots will likely be fine.
One of the fabulous things about growing bonsai is as you get old and decrepit your trees get old and beautiful
RogerW
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: all
Bonsai Age: 28
Bonsai Club: Canberra Bonsai Society

Post by RogerW »

If you re-pot them now you should spread the roots and plant on a tile. I note you are in Seymour and suggest you contact Shibui for advice.
Matthew
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: pines and maples
Bonsai Age: 17
Bonsai Club: none

Post by Matthew »