Japanese Maples - A journey

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
JimmyBanks
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Post by JimmyBanks »

A month ago I went up to a Bonsai Nursery in Mt Macedon and purchased a couple of nice young Japanese Maples.

This one:

And this one:

I thought being summer I would have to find a nice semi shading spot in the back yard where they would get morning sun but no afternoon sun. The perfect spot is right outside my bedroom in the courtyard. And it seems they are enjoying it.

This is today:

And:

I just need to figure out the plan and get some good movement. As you all know I’m a newbie. I believe I should be letting them grow and that will help to thicken up the trunks... Or should I be pinching the new buds when they appear to keep them at this height? I don’t know where these trees will take me but it’s a journey that I’m looking forward to going on.
Last edited by JimmyBanks on January 30th, 2019, 7:32 pm, edited 4 times in total.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Japanese Maples - A journey

Post by shibui »

There are many different ways to achieve a bonsai Japanese maple.
They can sprout new shoots from older, bare wood so it is possible to let them grow really big to get a thick trunk quickly then cut back to a good 'bonsai' shape trunk and then grow new branches. Probably allow 10-20 years to achieve a good mid - larger sized bonsai this way. Pros: relatively quick. Cons: larger scars will take a few years to heal over, JM sometimes die back when pruned really hard, Some risk that fast grown trunks will end up as ugly stump bonsai.