Ginkgo biloba yellowing leaves & stress

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
NathJB
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ginkgo
Bonsai Age: 13
Bonsai Club: Nil

Ginkgo biloba yellowing leaves & stress

Post by NathJB »

Hi

I’m new to this amazing forum. I’m reaching out as I have a Ginkgo biloba that is just over 28 years old. It has been with me since 2002 and has always been a strong and hardy tree. Repotted this specimen at the end of August, and all was healthy and fine with healthy roots and the subsequent pruning. Of note the last time I repotted this specimen was approximately 2 years ago.

I was sure to apply a diluted amount of Seasol at the time of repotting. The last two weeks I noted a small cluster of leaves yellowing on the middle left side of the tree. I put this down to a bit of transplant shock. The last two days the top most left hand side has started to yellow and some of the leaves going a tad limp in some spots. I have attached some photos for reference. As noted in the attached photos I have explained that the lowest branch below the yellowing top canopy is healthy and green.
Thanks for any advice and assistance in advance.

Regards
Nath
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Ginkgo biloba yellowing leaves & stress

Post by shibui »

I find ginkgo very tough. I can remove the majority of roots and they still keep growing so I doubt that simply root pruning would have caused this die back.
As it is confined to one side of the tree I guess it is related to a root problem but I have no idea from the info given what that might be.

You have not given us a look at the pot or the potting mix you use, either of which could have a bearing on the problem.