Liquid Amber - Best time of year to hard prune branches and roots?

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
stroven2022
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: natives
Bonsai Age: 0

Liquid Amber - Best time of year to hard prune branches and roots?

Post by stroven2022 »

G'day!

Hi everyone I just joined the forum today, this is my first post. Hope you're all well and excited for spring!

During winter I picked up an interesting looking Liquid Amber from a nursery in the hopes of creating a bonsai from it. I am very new to this, only started this year.

I like this tree because it has 3 trunks! I initially had chopped them just to fit it in the car for the ride home, but now I would like to do some more chopping to create my initial style.

I plan to chop each of the 3 trunks to different proportions to add some interest but I am just wondering the best time of year to do this? Right now (second day of spring here in Australia) there are buds all over and even some small leaves - is this an ok time to do some more chopping?

Secondly, it is very pot bound so I also want to repot the tree - Is it a good idea to repot AND chop trunks/heavy branches at the same time? Or is it better to stagger the timing on these two activities?

And one final question! I obviously needs some secondary branches to grow - would a plastic nursery pot or a bonsai pot be better for this?

Excited to hear from the masters!
buds on trunk.jpg
buds sprouting.jpg
small leaves.jpg
trunk chop idea.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
kcpoole
Perpetual Learner
Perpetual Learner
Favorite Species: Maple
Bonsai Age: 15
Bonsai Club: the School Of Bonsai

Re: Liquid Amber - Best time of year to hard prune branches and roots?

Post by kcpoole »

Hi and welcome,
You can cut back hard now and the tree will bounce back
Root prune deciduous tree at the same time as chopping the top is fine

Ken