Trident Maple development

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
jessepap
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Trident
Bonsai Age: 1

Trident Maple development

Post by jessepap »

Hi all

I recently purchased this Trident from Shibui Bonsai which has been field grown by Neil.

It came with strong and vibrant growth which i decided to take the knife to in order to try and find some direction for the tree and plan for future branch placement. I am pretty new to this with a Trident, I have a smaller trunk which is still growing however am trying to aim a little higher with this tree.

I would welcome any comments/thoughts on how i have gone and where you see it from here.

I have provided photos from start to 'finish' - the trunk has some lovely shape to it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
BonsaiBobbie
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: No Luck Leptospermum, Could be Kunzea
Bonsai Age: 3
Bonsai Club: Sydney City Bonsai Club

Re: Trident Maple development

Post by BonsaiBobbie »

You are right there is definitely some great movement in the tree.

I think the photos are showing from finish to start btw!!

Wondering why you have wired one of the middle branches horizontal?

Too late now, but I would have kept one of the branches coming out of the cut / tapered end. You had a couple of good options there I thought.

Overall it isn’t clear to me why you cut so many of the branches off? Just to confirm the shape or to try and get some to grow in better spots?

I am not an expert. I don’t have any trees like that at all. I hope to learn something from this!
--
No idea what I am doing…
jessepap
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by jessepap »

thanks for the reply