Juniper And ficus questions

Forum for discussion of Evergreen bonsai – Buxus, Cotoneaster, Olive etc.
Bmstt
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniper
Bonsai Age: 0

Juniper And ficus questions

Post by Bmstt »

Hi all I have a few quick questions! Any help would be greatly appreciate as I am new to this :)

Juniper - Sargent
I recently bought a 4 yr Sargent. I live in Sydney and currently my balcony gets about 6 hours of good sun light a day, but even after just 4 days of owning the juniper, it appears the needles have started browning ? Is this due to too much sun or something else?

Ficus retusa
Also will my tiger fig struggle to live in Sydney’s conditions outside in winter. I have had mixed reactions reading online, can anyone give me some insight into what’s the lowest temperature the ficus can survive without having to come inside for the winter

Any help is really appreciate!!!!!
kez
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines, Junipers

Re: Juniper And ficus questions

Post by kez »

Both of these species will grow well in Sydney,

Juniper won’t show signs of ill health over 4 days, the way the sap travels through the tree it is often up to a month after significant stress that signs will begin to show, and in most cases it’s too late. Unless you have bought a tree that already has health issues I would suggest it’s just winter colour

As far as the fig, as long as it’s protected from frost it should be fine
RogerW
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: all
Bonsai Age: 28
Bonsai Club: Canberra Bonsai Society

Post by RogerW »

Pictures would help.
Bmstt
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Bmstt »

Here is a photo of the juniper!

Thanks for the reply, if there’s anything visually wrong let me know! Thanks! Image
robb63
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: figs & junipers
Bonsai Age: 4

Post by robb63 »

G-day Bmstt