Preparing Field Grown Juniper

Forum for discussion of Evergreen bonsai – Buxus, Cotoneaster, Olive etc.
one_bonsai
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniper
Bonsai Age: 2

Preparing Field Grown Juniper

Post by one_bonsai »

I'm a beginner and new advice on how to prepare this Juniper for field growing. I'm going to let the leader and branches low down grow as a sacrifice.

At the moment it is way too tall. So I'm thinking of letting the top part grow long (in red) which will be chopped off at some point in the future and a new apex lower down will be developed. So should I wire a lower branch now as the future new apex?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Re: Preparing Field Grown Juniper

Post by KIRKY »

I suggest you wire as much movement into it now. Especially into the trunk. The lower braches that you plan on using as sacrifice branches should be wired down and stripped of the growth near the trunk allowing more light to get to the trunk and lower / middle branches you plan on keeping. Unless you plan to remove all the growth later and regrow the branch structure. Then just wire the trunk with movement.
Cheers
Krky
Great oaks from little acorns grow.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

I would suggest ignoring most of the trunk. I think you will find the best bonsai will eventually come from the base of the trunk and one of the lowest branches as the new trunk.
This is a ground cover type and all new growth is likely to grow down or horizontal. Lower branches tend to grow faster than the apex in prostrate varieties so there is less risk that the top will dominate and suppress the lower branches.