Shimpaku juniper growth rate

Forum for discussion of Pines, Junipers, Cedar etc as bonsai.
JL42
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniper
Bonsai Age: 3

Shimpaku juniper growth rate

Post by JL42 »

Hi all, I'm fairly new to bonsai
Several months ago, I potted a shimpaku juniper into a styrofoam grow box
It's currently growing well in a mix of scoria and sieved pine bark.
The trunk is currently 2cm thick at the base and I am wondering how long would it
Take for the plant to get a trunk thickness of 4-5cm
Thanks
treeman
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: any
Bonsai Age: 25

Re: Shimpaku juniper growth rate

Post by treeman »

JL42 wrote: The trunk is currently 2cm thick at the base and I am wondering how long would it
Take for the plant to get a trunk thickness of 4-5cm
Thanks
10 to 15 years.
Mike
bki
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: pine
Bonsai Age: 5

Post by bki »

I believe what treeman has said 10-15 years in Melbourne weather and growth rate. Your mix is a very acidic side for the shinpaku, the same mix I used about 4 years ago before I added pumice. I use 4-6mm sieved pumice, scoria and orchiata now and I noticed a changed in vigour on foliage. This year I added some akadama for experiment.
I am not sure with the weather and growth rate of cold climate species in your place so it is something you have to find out but using a large floor area grow box for shinpaku is debatable if the foliage cannot shade that from the heat of the sun. Soil will heat up from the heat of the sun and dries up quickly. a deeper and not wider container is ideal grow box for shinpakus.
more trees.....
Keep Calm and Ramify
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Post by Keep Calm and Ramify »

treeman wrote:
10 to 15 years.
Yep I agree, container grown possibly 20yrs to get to the 50mm mark.

https://www.ausbonsai.com.au/forum/view ... 31&t=25000