creating an apex

Forum for discussion of Pines, Junipers, Cedar etc as bonsai.
demps
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Natives
Bonsai Age: 3

creating an apex

Post by demps »

Hello guys

A couple of photos of my jbp, only had for a year or so now and Im just after some feedback or advice on creating apex's with JBP as its something I'm struggling with to grasp and for-see in my tree :lost: I'm thinking would it be best to decide on what branches to use in the top of the tree after decandling and a bit of growth has been put on again??

Cheers,

winter last year
IMG_2218.jpg
today (front)
IMG_2675.jpg
today (back)
IMG_2687.jpg
Today (apex)
IMG_2690.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by demps on November 23rd, 2018, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mbunro
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 1

Re: creating an apex

Post by Mbunro »

im still learning JBPS myself but i can see a solution to your apex problem.
Looks like there is 2 branches coming from the same spot lower on your trunk.. i would reduce to just the thicker one that forks off... wire this down slightly.

Reduce the branches at your apex to 2, wire one down as a second branch and wire one up as the new apex...

will only leave you with 3 main branches but it looks like a small tree so with some ramification it should work...

very crude virt attached...

EDIT: not saying to do this at this time of year!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mbunro on November 23rd, 2018, 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
demps
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by demps »

Mbunro wrote:im still learning JBPS myself but i can see a solution to your apex problem.
Looks like there is 2 branches coming from the same spot lower on your trunk.. i would reduce to just the thicker one that forks off... wire this down slightly.