To chop or not?

Forum for discussion of Pines, Junipers, Cedar etc as bonsai.
Darren S
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 2
Bonsai Club: S.A. Bonsai Society

To chop or not?

Post by Darren S »

I am thinking about chopping this juniper down and removing the cascade, I am looking for a little bit of advice as to if this is a good idea or not. I bought this tree about a year ago for $10 so it owes me nothing, as a beginner I'm just not sure the cascade adds anything to the tree. Thanks in advance
Cheers Darren
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
gnichols
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Japanese Maple
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Canberra Bonsai Society

Re: To chop or not?

Post by gnichols »

I'm little more than a beginner myself but I think your pads could be a little too big in comparison to the main trunk and on your cascade there looks to be a junction with 3 branches. This looks like a great little tree to take along to a beginner's workshop for some styling advice - are you a club member anywhere? These juniper have so many options and there is no right or wrong *, as far as what style is best. I can see a cascade tree there and also an informal upright. What do you want it to be?

Sent from my SM-G570F using Tapatalk
Ryceman3
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines & Mels
Bonsai Age: 7

Post by Ryceman3 »

For mine the cascade looks problematic, all main branching coming from essentially the same junction several inches from the main trunk. I’d chop and use the first image you posted (or somewhere around there) as your starting point for a new front... then again I only own one juniper and it’s not a needle like this so others with more experience with these may see things a bit differently, but since you asked! :2c:
Max
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: all
Bonsai Age: 3
Bonsai Club: grow chop snip

Post by Max »