JWP development question re bud thinning

Forum for discussion of Pines, Junipers, Cedar etc as bonsai.
Rare plant Pat
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Anything Rare
Bonsai Age: 1
Bonsai Club: Yarra Valley Bonsai Society

JWP development question re bud thinning

Post by Rare plant Pat »

Hi everyone. Lat year in Autumn I bought an old JWP that was a bit unthrifty and had fairly bare branches. I'm new to bonsai and have been getting to know how to work with JWP.

This spring it responded with multiple candles and I mistakenly cut these back hard early before any needles had emerged. I did get some minor back budding on bare wood a few cm down the stems.

I say mistakenly, because I've since come across Ryan Neil's videos and read various threads here and now understand that my tree is in development stage, or more properly re-developement, not refinement stage. So now I'm patiently waiting for next spring to come around so I can push all my new buds hard in order to prune them back later in the season to get back budding.

My question is, recently the tree had developed a mass of buds, which makes me happy, but I'm wondering if I should thin them down to just two buds per cluster.

As you will see from the photos, some of them have up to eight buds.

My second question is, if I thin them out, should I select for direction first, ie two buds in the horizontal plane going left and right, or should I just thin to the two fattest buds? Or the best compromise of these two?

Finally, I know that even if I follow the gospel according to Ryan perfectly there may be areas that don't respond to back budding ever.

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Daluke
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniper
Bonsai Age: 8

Re: JWP development question re bud thinning

Post by Daluke »

Hey mate,

You’ve picked a doozy to start learning bonsai on.