Crab apple in Sydney west?

Forum for discussion of Flowering and fuiting bonsai - Azalea, Serissa, Apricot etc.
Dips
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 1

Crab apple in Sydney west?

Post by Dips »

Hello everyone, I am new in bonsai. After researching a lot and lot, I have come up with a bonsai tree I liked the most. That is “Crab Apple “ I don’t have any crab apple tree yet, but planning to acquire from anywhere any how ,buying . Before I spend my time and money, one Important question has come in my mind. That is ‘Is western Sydney’s climate suitable for crab apple to grow ? I am in quite hurry to start working on crab apple. Please suggest. Please share ur experiences.
Thanks,
Dips ( western Sydney)
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Crab apple in Sydney west?

Post by shibui »

I think all of NSW should be good for crabapple. They will grow anywhere other apple trees grow. Definitely frost resistant and they won't mind getting warm in summer provided you water properly and maybe just a little shade in the hottest months.
You've probably already seen that grafted trees can grow to have unsightly bulges or show a change of bark where the graft is so, for bonsai it is better to find one that's not grafted. I know that Ray Nesci grows ungrafted crab apples and would probably be a great place to start looking.
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
GavinG
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Maple
Bonsai Age: 0
Bonsai Club: CBS

Post by GavinG »

That's good advice from Shibui, I'll only add that ground-growing helps to thicken the trunk quickly. Prune the roots back each year, and keep them well watered in the ground, otherwise you'll just end up with a couple of massive roots that go way down, which can rot when you cut them, and look rough as well.
Dips
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan