Newbie and Citrus

Forum for discussion of Flowering and fuiting bonsai - Azalea, Serissa, Apricot etc.
BzTouring
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ficus, Fruit trees
Bonsai Age: 0

Newbie and Citrus

Post by BzTouring »

ImageLime Front1 by Hazel Larrier, on Flickr

Hello all. This is my first post on Bonsai. I am new to this art but I have been enjoying the threads on the matter so much that I have obtained my first plant to be made into a Bonsai. This lime tree was removed from the ground and potted a few days ago.
The trunk diameter is about 2ins and this 2-branch plant was pruned to about 2ft tall. However, I would like to further reduce the height to 1ft while maintaining both branches (forking about 4" above the nebari).

While I would like to maintain the 2-branch style, the larger branch is only slightly tapered so I am not sure it meets the bonsai criteria (even at 2 ft). I am, therefore, wondering if it should be removed/jin and I should instead use the smaller branch as the leader.

Below is the view with the smaller branch.

ImageLime Front2 by Hazel Larrier, on Flickr
dansai
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Aussie Natives
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Coffs Harbour

Re: Newbie and Citrus

Post by dansai »

It appears that there would be plenty of places on the thicker branch/trunk that you could cut back to to create taper. But first of all you need to get this tree healthy and growing. A general rule when removing a tree from the ground and into a pot is to leave it for at least a year or even 2 before doing any work on it. This ensures it has good roots established in the pot and is healthy enough to cope with more work. The potting mix looks very dry, and so do the leaves. Give it some water and get it growing strongly again before you work on it some more.
Travelling the Mid North Coast of NSW and beyond to attend Markets and other events