Cumquat leaf yellowing

Forum for discussion of Flowering and fuiting bonsai - Azalea, Serissa, Apricot etc.
Daluke
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Juniper
Bonsai Age: 8

Cumquat leaf yellowing

Post by Daluke »

I’m pretty new to the world of citrus / cumquat for bonsai.

I’ve had consistent yellow leaves (not deformed) and poor new leaf growth on a purchase from several months ago.

I repotted into a more open mix (it was in super water logged soil), have been treating with iron chelate and haven’t noticed any real change. Fruits are consistent.

Does anyone have any idea on how to promote healthy growth?
evan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Anything Shohin
Bonsai Age: 9
Bonsai Club: Nepean Bonsai Society, The School of Bonsai

Re: Cumquat leaf yellowing

Post by evan »

Mine have only just woken up from winter and some are still yellow with only very small signs of movement. The yellowing is unavoidable unless you shade them them over the winter (even better if it's shaded and also in a greenhouse).

Might need to up the fertiliser. I use a citrus slow release for mine with good results.

Other than that only thing to do is wait, they really need the warmth to begin pumping the growth.
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Post by KIRKY »

All citrus are gross feeders, they need feeding all the time. Full sun food and water are the go for healthy trees.
So I would suggest your tree is probably starving. The other problem that will cause yellow leaves is over watering.
Slow release foods are fine when the trees are healthy and well feed continuously. Other wise a hungry tree has to wait for the warmer weather for the slow release to break down enough to start the feeding cycle.