Green Island Fig

Forum for discussion of Tropical bonsai – Ficus, Bougainvillea, Fukien Tea, Dwarf Umbrella etc.
sjc
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 1

Green Island Fig

Post by sjc »

Hey guys

I'm relatively new to bonsai and have learnt heaps from this forum already. I live close to brisbane and I've been experimenting with some cassurina and eucalypt tube stock, hacking at some brachychiton rupestris and just keeping some maples alive really. I didn't have any large, old established trees until yesterday when I picked up these trees on gumtree as a bundle for about 400 bucks from someone moving overseas.

A Chinese Privet from 1956, a willow leaf root over rock thats 15 years old and a green island fig thats also 15 years old.

I was all pumped to repot and start dealing with the 2 figs today but went out this morning to start, got a bit overwhelmed and thought I'd ask for some learned opinions.

The green island fig is the biggest and is well and truly in need of root work and repotting... all of them havent been repotted in 10 years.

So my questions are:
1. This obviously needs repotting and root work... but can I cut back branches at the same time pretty drastically or just do the major stuff with the roots and wait on shaping?

2. I was thinking about styling this in informal upright... removing the large low branch. But there are some pretty impressive aerial roots which would also be removed which would be a shame. Then i was thinking about chopping the main trunk by about 2/3rds and doing the same with the large low branch. It was at this point I decided to seek out an adult who is adultier than myself.

I'd really appreciate some opinions... if you need more photos just let me know... thankyou!
Cheers

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
Last edited by sjc on December 8th, 2018, 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Re: Green Island Fig