clerodendrum heavy pruning

Forum for discussion of Tropical bonsai – Ficus, Bougainvillea, Fukien Tea, Dwarf Umbrella etc.
PWC
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: crepe myrtle/juniper
Bonsai Age: 2

clerodendrum heavy pruning

Post by PWC »

I purchased this clerodendrum a few weeks ago and would like to bring the branching back closer to the trunk as it getting to far away.
IMG_3827.JPG
IMG_3826.JPG
IMG_3825.JPG
I believe that Clerodendrum bud back on old wood but can you cut back past foliage and expect budding? If it is when would be the best time to prune?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Peter.
TimIAm
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ficus, Elm, Juniper
Bonsai Age: 0

Re: clerodendrum heavy pruning

Post by TimIAm »

This is just my experience. Because cutting back hard always comes with risk.

I've got one that I've been growing for over 20 years and have cut back hard many times. Main reason being that my interest in everything comes and goes and my tree puts out a lot of growth every year. So if left unchecked, it ends up looking like a bush. Last time I did a hard cut back (beyond green on every branch except one) on mine was within the last 6 months, prior to that I had it growing unchecked for 2 seasons in a larger container.

My experience with cutting beyond green is that it's generally been ok, but I have had dieback. For me, it's only been on thinner/younger branches. Because it grows so well, I've just trimmed off the younger branch and there's always been new growth to replace it within a season.

Over the years I've pruned my tree hard in each of the seasons in different years with the same effect. If I told you when I think is best, I'm sure someone on here would come and contradict what I suggest. Each time I've pruned it, it hasn't thrown out new growth immediately, but around 4-6 weeks after pruning it puts out new buds and then roars back to life.