What now for this Fukien Tea Tree?

Forum for discussion of Tropical bonsai – Ficus, Bougainvillea, Fukien Tea, Dwarf Umbrella etc.
Glenda
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ficus, Swamp Cypress, Bouganvillea,
Bonsai Age: 2
Bonsai Club: Mackay Bonsai Club

What now for this Fukien Tea Tree?

Post by Glenda »

Hi people,

I have been growing this Fukien Tea for about 12 months from a very small seedling. It has grown hugely in height, but not in girth. It is not even growing straight up. Should I chop the wayward bit off the top and try to get it to grow outwards instead? I tried pinching of some of the new growth (I was away for 10 days and it was in the care of my mother - thats when it grew those three spindly shoots at the top) but it just keeps growing.
Dscf0496.jpg
Ideas, please people. They are greatly appreciated by this newbie.

Glenda
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"Knowledge is not a heavy thing to carry around" - JB Taylor (my father)
"The more you learn the more you earn" - JB Taylor
"There are exceptions to every rule, but to be an exception, you must first be exceptional" - Me
Glenda
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Re: What now for this Fukien Tea Tree?

Post by Glenda »

Can anyone help?
"There are exceptions to every rule, but to be an exception, you must first be exceptional" - Me
Chris H
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: All of them.
Bonsai Age: 15
Bonsai Club: School of bonsai

Post by Chris H »

Glenda
If it were mine Id put it into a grow box (a few threads here will explain this)

Id plant it on a big of an angle,

Id get some wire and create some movement in the lower part of the trunk using the current branches as a guide.

Trim off the top branches to encourage the lower ones

Then Id go down to the nursery and get another and do it all over again

Have a couple of beers and come back in two years.

Hope that helps.