Winter Care of Port Jackson Fig In Canberra ?

Forum for discussion of Tropical bonsai – Ficus, Bougainvillea, Fukien Tea, Dwarf Umbrella etc.
gazzatash
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Maple
Bonsai Age: 1
Bonsai Club: N/A

Winter Care of Port Jackson Fig In Canberra ?

Post by gazzatash »

HI there Im new to bonsai and this is my first post that I have put up.. So looking for some help out there from some fig experts.. I have recently aquired 9 small Port Jackson Fig cuttings from a really nice chap up in Chatswood..They are aeriel root ready and look awesome.If anyone who has read some recent posts re PJ Figs, it was the same guy who Mitchell aquired his awesome PJ sumo stumps from.. Any how back to the point of the post. I live in Canberra and have a few deciduous trees like maples and the like but thought I would try my hand at some figs.. they look very interesting and can't wait till spring when i can start experimenting and see what I can achieve.. but untill spring comes along I would like to know how to care for them over our winter period? I have heard of people bringing them inside etc, but because there are 9 I just can't have them all inside, my wife would kill me..So is there a way i can keep them outside ? like covering them up at night, and removing the cover at morning ? and or is it the frost that kills them or the cold... Any advise would be most welcome. Ill put some pics up tomorrow just to show them of.

Cheers.

Gazza
Bretts
Bonsai Philosopher
Bonsai Philosopher
Favorite Species: carpinus jbp
Bonsai Age: 12

Re: Winter Care of Port Jackson Fig In Canberra ?

Post by Bretts »

Hi Gazza
Quick answer for you is just get them under cover. Shade house green house veranda. That is enough for us out here at Parkes but You may be just a bit colder in Canberra