hot hot hot climate - Completely lost as to where to start..

Australian conditions vary from one extreme to another. What do you do and when do you do it?
rikx
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

hot hot hot climate - Completely lost as to where to start..

Post by rikx »

Hey guys and girls.. this is my first post on this forum and joined the site as i would obviously like to get started with bonsai.. I have very little experience with this type of growing and would like to learn more as the years go by...

I have been doing a fair amount of reading and have not been able to get any definate answers to the questions i am asking.. hence i decided to join the forum..

I currently reside in mount isa qld, if you dont know where that is it is north west qld in the middle of nowhere.. tempratures out here usually hover around the 35-40 degrees 8-9 months of the year and our winter usually lasts about a month and a half with the temp not dropping below 22 deg during the day.. occasionally we get a negitive number over night..

So..i have been tossing up the best species to grow in this environment and the closet i could come are tropical plants.. however from reading, tropicals like between 25-30 and a fair amount of humidity which we do not have out here.. (very dry heat most of the year).. the only solutions that i am coming to is to create a eco chamber/growbox of somekind with artifical lighting, humidifier, temp controller, venting etc.. i dont mind having to do this as i wont be living out here for ever and can take my trees with me when i leave..

In your opinion is this over kill?.. is there other ways that i am missing?.. any suggestions would be much appreciated as i would like to get started soon.. thanks for reading the rant :P
Truth
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Maples and Pines
Bonsai Age: 2

Re: hot hot hot climate - Completely lost as to where to start..

Post by Truth »