Where do you get it?
WMC
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 2

Tools Question

Post by WMC »

Hi all

This is my first post after just joining Ausbonsai. I have been reading, googling, asking etc and i'm sure its been asked 100 times before....

So what brand bonsai tools should i buy????

To narrow the advice, although i have never joined a club or forum i have been doing bonsai for about 10 years and still have the original no name sheers and branch cutter i started with. I think its time to upgrade and i would prefer to spend a little more for good quality than to be disapointed with poor product/tools. Call me sentimental but i like the idea of going Japanese for tradition sake, but am open to suggestion if waranted. I do like the idea of being able to return to the same manifacturer for future tools as needed so a broad range is prefered.

Also any advice on Stainless steel vs Carbon steel and how to best care for each?

So .....
Mid to high quality
Large range of tools
Prefer Japanese (but not closed to good alternatives)
Excelent reputation and service
Stainless steel or Carbon steel (care and cleaning advice)

What are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance
Warren
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Tools Question

Post by shibui »

There's a number of excellent makers. You will find that bonsai tool users are a bit like car users - they will have a favorite but usually without ever testing alternatives. This probably means all brands are good.
Cheaper tools are made to a budget and may be inferior or unreliable quality so definitely pay reasonable prices to get decent tools.

Stainless tools are now quite cheap. They don't rust but more difficult to sharpen than good black carbon steel. My stainless tools are still sharp after a lot of use so sharpening may not be an issue for most people.