New Potter Needs Lots Of Help

A place to talk about Australian bonsai potters and pottery.
Mack_187
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: pines
Bonsai Age: 0

New Potter Needs Lots Of Help

Post by Mack_187 »

G'day.

A couple of months back I bought a pottery wheel to have a go at throwing some pots. I thought it was going to be easy :oops: Besides making a mess, I made about six pots if you'd call them that. I seem to get a nice pot done and then it goes very wrong getting them off the wheel. How is it done ? I've been using a 60 pound fishing line. I've seen potters on youtube hold the wire down over the wheel and then spin it, i've tried this heaps. Is there a secret way that's not on youtube ?
Is it the clay im using ? Whats the best type of clay for pots ?

Cheers Michael
Bretts
Bonsai Philosopher
Bonsai Philosopher
Favorite Species: carpinus jbp
Bonsai Age: 12

Re: New Potter Needs Lots Of Help

Post by Bretts »

Hey Michael
I am only a beginner myself but maybe you need to let the pot dry a little before removing. I often do mine with no base adding it later so I can manipulate the shape into oval or rectangular and such. These I leave to dry out a little before I cut them of the bat.
If I have a basein my pot for round pots I will cut through the base of the clay almost as soon as I finish with it on the wheel but wil then leave it ther to set for a little longer before removing it completely. I do see other more experienced remove straight away but I feel they are better at getting the finished product with clay that has not been worked as much as I do to get the finished product ;)
I would recomend geting a proper cutting wire this should improve your results. Keep at it :cool:
It's too bad your in such a hurry cause the stories I could tell you, Bushels and baskets of stories, hole crates full of stories. But if you can spare a moment I will tell you one story.
Mack_187
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Mack_187 »