Display setup

Taking good photo's of your tree's can be challenging. Discuss your ideas and tips here.
PeterH
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Next project

Display setup

Post by PeterH »

I went to a Bonsai display recently and as Bonsai hobbyist was impressed with a lot of the trees displayed, especially the natives BUT as an amateur photographer I was disappointed with the setup.
It was cramped and many of the trees did not have there own space, plus the trees were lost in the amount of black which surrounded them. Also the vertical aluminum channel on the rear partitions detracted from the tree which also reflected the down lighting.
I did take some test photos and from that I decided to take some outside.

With that said it was still a great display.

Kind Regards,

Peter
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CraigM
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 20
Bonsai Club: Waverley, Vic Native and BSV

Re: Display setup

Post by CraigM »

Thanks Peter, sometime less is more. Suppose clubs thinking about members and trying to encourage to display at times fit in more than they should, also need to work with materials and space available, so at times is a balancing act. As you say the display was still great so was in no way a criticism. Looking at the pictures the vertical lines really do break the view.

Love that natural group, the top tree is great as well.

The outside pictures of the harbour really capture the scene. Nice one.
KIRKY
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Flowering
Bonsai Age: 12
Bonsai Club: BSV

Post by KIRKY »

It would be good if they had a species tag instead of a number tag :lost:
Its always nice to know what you are looking at. Great shots of the Harbour.
Cheers
Kirky
Great oaks from little acorns grow.
JaseH
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Cedar, Natives, Prunus, Maples
Bonsai Age: 1
Bonsai Club: Waverly, BSV, VNBC