Leatherwood as bonsai

A place to post and chat about Australian native species as Bonsai.
Hen
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 3
Bonsai Club: Waverley Bonsai Group, Victorian Native Bonsai Club

Leatherwood as bonsai

Post by Hen »

I've been given a Leatherwood (Eucryphia lucida) in a large nursery pot and am looking for info on whether or not it would make a good bonsai. So far I've not found anything, even on this site, so perhaps that would suggest not!! So....should I give it a try or should I plant it in the garden?? I'm a bonsai beginner, so experience is low, but enthusiasm high :-)
dansai
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Aussie Natives
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Coffs Harbour

Re: Leatherwood as bonsai

Post by dansai »

Just a quIck at wikipeadia would suggest it would make a good bonsai. Small tree or shrub with small leaves and lovely flowers. Look on here at general eucalyptus posts for care instructions. Being a Tasmanian tree I would say will fletcher (tanglefoot on this forum) would be growing it and may have info.
Travelling the Mid North Coast of NSW and beyond to attend Markets and other events

www.bonsaibus.com.au - www.facebook.com/TheBonsaiBus - www.instagram.com/thebonsaibus
Hen
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Hen »

Thanks dansai. Yes, it certainly looks the part, I just don't want to kill it if it doesn't like shoots or roots being rationalised! Do you think I should treat is as a eucalypt?
bodhidharma
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: English Elm
Bonsai Age: 24
Bonsai Club: goldfields

Post by bodhidharma »

They suffer a little bit of dieback but i have a few i am playing with, nothing to report as yet as i have only had it a couple of years.
"Advice is rarely welcome, and the one's who need it the most welcome it the least"
Hen
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Hen »