Acer palmatum development pruning

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

Hi everyone,
I have been developing this Japanese maple for a few years. Trying to get a multi trunk natural Japanese maple style tree.
AP large 2010 5 a2.JPG
Now the leaves have fallen this winter it is time to prune again to further develop the branching and ramification but I thought this year it might be informative to take anyone interested along through the process so I'm planning to do the work in stages over the next week or 2 with input from you.
Anyone is welcome to contribute ideas and suggestions as we go.

Remember this is not the ONLY way to develop ramification, it is just the way I am doing it.

Here is the tree as it is at the start of this winter.
AP large 2013 6 1.JPG
The first thing to do is clean up fallen leaves so we can see the tree properly. note that the tree is actually dormant - the few remaining leaves have just forgotten to fall off yet.
AP large 2013 6 2.JPG
So what's next :?:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
kcpoole
Perpetual Learner
Perpetual Learner
Favorite Species: Maple
Bonsai Age: 15
Bonsai Club: the School Of Bonsai

Re: Acer palmatum development pruning

Post by kcpoole »

Would be cleaning out the shoots and branches unwanted, then wiring every Branch and twig now.

Curious do you tip prune at all thru summer? I thought by doing so the internodes will be shorter

Ken
Check out our Wiki for awesome bonsai information www.ausbonsai.com.au/wiki
What is Bonsai? http://www.ausbonsai.com.au/wiki/index.php?title=Bonsai
What should I do now? http://www.ausbonsai.com.au/wiki/index.php?title=Newbie