Help for an amature in getting started.

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
Shifty
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

Help for an amature in getting started.

Post by Shifty »

Hi all, I'm very new to this's I have wanted a Bonsai for a whole but never been in the right place to buy one. That all changed the other day when I actually ended up buying 2, an established juniper and a fiscus (roots over rock). The guy I got them from said to cut the fig right back and allow new growth. I ha a tidy up of it last night but couldn't bring myself to complete defoliation. I was just after some advice on where to get started on both of them. I will upload some pictures shortly.
Any advice or tips would be great on this if it's not to much bother.

Thanks, Toby
Shifty
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Re: Help for an amature in getting started.

Post by Shifty »

Here they are
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Shifty
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Shifty »

Here is the juniper
image.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Shifty
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by Shifty »

Here is the back of the jig
kez
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines, Junipers

Post by kez »

G'day and welcome

Both look like good trees, the juniper especially, I would be surprised if there wasnt something very workable under all that good healthy growth.

My advice would be to thin it out and get a bit of an idea of whats under there. Then you should have a clearer idea on taking it forward. This will also help to keep the growth near the trunk healthy by allowing in light and air.

The fig would benefit from a good few feeds and a defoliation late dec early jan after it's had time to push some growth.