New Bonsai. Where to begin?

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
Ronron
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0

New Bonsai. Where to begin?

Post by Ronron »

Hi everyone,

I have just gained interest in Bonsai and have done a lot of youtubing and reading but am still an absolute novice.
This weekend I drove past a garage sale and popped in and they were selling a bonsai for $5. It was owned by the seller's late mother who passed away and they said that it was at least 30-40 years of age.
They admitted that it had not been looked after for a while and had been neglected and has probably only been re-potted once or twice in its lifetime.

They think it is a Fig? the bark is extremely dry with many brittle bits to it.
First thing I have done is re-potted the plant with a bonsai potting mixture and trimmed the roots because they were extremely long and winding around the previous pot.
It was sitting in virtually no soil and only rocks, but the leaves look pretty good.
I was hoping to let it settle after the re-pot and then maybe cutting back the trunk to get some new branches.

Any tips or suggestions to rejuvenate this tree and where to prune/cut the trunk to get new branches would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

P.S. I have also put a separate condensed post in the tree ID section as I am not sure what species it is. I have tried my best to use the posting rules and using correct terminology guide on the forum.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Ronron on April 2nd, 2017, 8:52 am, edited 2 times in total.
bonsaeen
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Elm, maple, ficus
Bonsai Age: 2

Re: New Bonsai. Where to begin?

Post by bonsaeen »

I am no expert but its probably a fig tree.
Kevin
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 30

Post by Kevin »

Ronron wrote:Hi everyone,