Good book recommendations

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
Brekel
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Tas natives
Bonsai Age: 2

Good book recommendations

Post by Brekel »

Hi - newbie here, although I've lurked on and off for a couple of years :)
There's lots of great info on here, but I'm also after a good book to act as a reference and give a good overview. I was wondering what you would recommend for someone starting out? Something that covers all the basics, and hopefully some more advanced stuff too. I don't mind how indepth it gets, as long as it also covers the basics.

A couple of books I've seen recommended are:

The Secret Techniques of Bonsai by Masakuni Kawasumi

Bonsai: Its Art, Science, History and Philosophy, by Deborah R. Koreshoff
(Older and out of print, but fairly readily available)

The second has over twice the number of pages, so I assume is more indepth? But may not be as up-to-date. However I assume the fundamentals are still the same, and a good place to start.

No doubt there's lots of other good books too.

Which of the above, or what alternatives, would you recommend and why?

Nothofagus-Melaleuca-Leptospermum-Lagarostrobos-Cedrus-Acer
bonsaeen
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Elm, maple, ficus

Re: Good book recommendations

Post by bonsaeen »

Hi Mate,

I am a noob myself and only started Jan last year 2017. I got a book called Bonsai by Peter Warren. Honestly, this is a very basic book. It talks about tools, styles, species and shows you how to create each style etc but overall a basic book with lots and lots of pictures. Every now and then I open it and look at pictures lol.