Pond basket drying out quickly

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
BonsaiPancake
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Olive
Bonsai Age: 4

Post by BonsaiPancake »

This is my first season using pond baskets for a few of my trees (the black cube ones from the green shed). One of them (a Ginkgo) really struggled with moisture yesterday which was a warm but not too hot day in Sydney. Watering it perked it back up pretty quickly.

Obviously the basket causes the soil to dry very quickly, and on top of this it's quite an inorganic mix (around 30% organic). With the wife due in the next few weeks I can't rely too heavily on watering multiple times per day (usually not an issue since I run my own business out of my house).

I'd prefer to keep it in the pond basket as I'm experimenting with these trees, so is the best solution here to simply increase the organic ratio? I have no experience with these baskets over hot weather to know whether that will solve this issue. With other pots I could easily throw a bark / sphagnum layer on top as a stop-gap solution but that obviously won't work too well with these baskets.

This tree in particular was repotted a couple of months ago so removing it and adding more organic mix shouldn't disrupt the tree too much.

Any other thoughts/advice?
Keels
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines, Eucalyptus and Callistemon
Bonsai Age: 11
Bonsai Club: CBS, Goulburn & VNBC

Re: Pond basket drying out quickly

Post by Keels »

I purchase plastic colanders from the two dollar shops and place the pond baskets in the colanders. Sometimes up to three in one colander. That might help.
Pearcy001
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Natives and Exotics
Bonsai Age: 0

Post by Pearcy001 »