General Tips for some new trees

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
Krusty
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 1

General Tips for some new trees

Post by Krusty »

Hello everyone :)

I recently purchased some plants for my new bonsai collection and was wanting some advice on general care specific to my purchases. I have grown one or two bonsai in the past but had to give them up early on, so whilst i have some limited basic knowledge from books etc, I felt i should ask some veterans before i do anything with them so as not to make any mistakes.

I obtained the following varieties:

-Escallonia Macrantha Rubra Nana
-Azalea Splendens
-Cotoneaster Horizontalis
-Sempervirens English Box

I managed to get some information via the internet on all but the Escallonia. However, I wanted to get some first hand advice for all my plants, as after looking as some different sites, i have found that advice can sometimes be contradictory.

In particular, i was looking at the following information for each plant:

-Likes or dislikes direct sun
-Watering
-Feeding/Fertilising
-When to prune
-When and how often to repot

Also, I'm interested to know if i will outright kill any of the plants if i repot them now. I bought them from the nursery and so they are not in Bonsai pots as yet. I would like to get them in some pots ASAP but at the same time, it would be a pointless exercise if they die a week later.

Thanks ;)
Last edited by Krusty on January 12th, 2010, 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Glenda
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Ficus, Swamp Cypress, Bouganvillea,
Bonsai Age: 2
Bonsai Club: Mackay Bonsai Club

Re: General Tips for some new trees

Post by Glenda »

Hi Krusty,