Should I defoliate?

Share your success stories about defoliation, bare rooting and anything else relating to maintaining healthy bonsai.
Jacobsj1
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Chinese Elm, Juniper, Dwarf jade, Pomegranate
Bonsai Age: 1
Bonsai Club: -

Should I defoliate?

Post by Jacobsj1 »

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Bonsai, and Unfortunately my Chinese elm and (what i believe to be) Fukien Tea appear to have been fairly damaged by the hot and dry weather here in Perth over the past month. I have kept the soil moist, however the leaves are still shrivelling up and gradually falling off. I have read that Defoliating on a sick tree shouldn't be performed, however i fear that my bonsai will die anyway... should i go ahead and defoliate them anyway?
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Re: Should I defoliate?

Post by shibui »

First you need to fix the problem that caused the burnt leaves. Burnt leaves can be caused by a number of different things: Lack of water; Too much water; Excess fertiliser; Herbicide drift; Salinity to list just a few. It is hard to diagnose the real problem without knowing much more about the trees and how you grow them.
If they are small bonsai it is likely the pots will dry out every day unless you have some way of keeping the moisture up to them during the day.