pebble
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: JBP
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Illawarra Bonsai Society

Advice on this little lepto

Post by pebble »

So picked up this coastal tea tree a few weeks back from Sydney wildflower nursery
and was looking for a bit of advice from people that have had some experience with these. Before I do anything with this tree.

So it's obviously quite young and very long n stringy. My thoughts were to put it in the ground or big pot for a few years to thicken it up a bit and maybe a air layer to get another tree out of it.

Just wondering if it was your tree what you would do with it and how you would move forward?

Also can you feed them hard to thicken them up quicker?

Cheers dwayne
I'm a bonsai newb
im a total newb
Lane
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Undecided....
Bonsai Age: 3
Bonsai Club: School of Bonsai

Re: Advice on this little lepto

Post by Lane »

I assume you've seen Treeman's thread on this species?

He has a few in the ground with some serious bends going on that may be good inspiration for you?

Are there many other of these and other natives at that nursery? I need more natives!
Bougy Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Bougainvillea, Ficus and Swamp Cypress
Bonsai Age: 4
Bonsai Club: Bimer

Post by Bougy Fan »

Yes thicken up in the ground or styro box. And put some movement into it now - you can't do it later when it thicker. And remember the bends "soften" after the wire comes off so don't be scared to put some radical movement into it.
Regards Tony

"The problem with quotes found on the Internet is that it's hard to be sure of their authenticity." Abraham Lincoln
bonsaibruce
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: All
Bonsai Age: 20
Bonsai Club: Bimer Bonsai Club

Post by bonsaibruce »

Greetings,
Do NOT cut off the lower branches.
Put some curves into the trunk