Tree ID/Rescue mission

Discussions about propagating from cuttings, seeds, air layers etc. Going on a dig (Yamadori) or thinking of importing? Discuss how, when and where here.
Rhiannon
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 0
Bonsai Club: Northern Suburbs Bonsai Club

Tree ID/Rescue mission

Post by Rhiannon »

So, as a bonsai newb I'm nervous about experimenting with my Jacaranda Christmas present as I don't want to kill a gift. However, there's this particular tree in my backyard that I thought could be a pretty experiment as it blossoms really nicely. This is, I don't know what it is - it's simply referred to as "the plum tree". I figured one of you might know:
Bonsai 008_.jpg
Bonsai 009_.jpg
There's seedlings popping up all over the place that I thought I could grab, for which I'd need some advice on what to do. But there is one rather established tree right next to the fence that my mum intends to pull out so that it doesn't distort the fence as it grows:
Bonsai 011_.jpg
I had wondered if I could save it from tree heaven by using it for something. To give you an idea of size, that fence is about 6 foot high. Which begs the question - can this be utilised for a bonsai at all, or is it too tall?

If so, there's about a dozen others shooting up around the tree. These range from about 10 to 40cm:
Bonsai 010_.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Rhiannon on January 20th, 2010, 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
.: may your organs fail before your dreams fail you :.
IS2SXC
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: azeleas
Bonsai Age: 2
Bonsai Club: 0

Re: Tree ID/Rescue mission

Post by IS2SXC »

does it produce fruit ???

to me the big tree is a prunus which are the classification for plums cherries and etc.

but looking at the bark colour and leaf colour

it could be a prunus nigra
Jamie
Bonsai passionardo
Bonsai passionardo
Favorite Species: CLERO!!!,ficus, celtis, juniper, elms