Air Layer Prunus Dulcis.[orange roots]

Discussions about propagating from cuttings, seeds, air layers etc. Going on a dig (Yamadori) or thinking of importing? Discuss how, when and where here.
boom64
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Almond
Bonsai Age: 2

Air Layer Prunus Dulcis.[orange roots]

Post by boom64 »

Hi All,
Recently did a few late Air Layers,end of November.A bit late but thought i would still try :fc: Checked them today,some success others hopefuly soon.The picture below is of one of my Almonds.Would like to know about the orange colouring on the roots? As this is my first time i have struck them.
The Air Layer was a 1cm cut,hormone powder and sphagum moss.Bubble wrap then a bit of black plastic covering it.I did the cut on a 45% as there was some good flare from an old branch.It recieved morning sun only.
My plan is to let it get going,then cut back the branches next winter,get some small branches hapening.Hopefuly a nice little shohin.Any advice gladly appreciated . :lost:
Thanks John.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bougy Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Bougainvillea, Ficus and Swamp Cypress
Bonsai Age: 4
Bonsai Club: Bimer

Re: Air Layer Prunus Dulcis.[orange roots]

Post by Bougy Fan »

Were the roots sticking out from the layer in the air ? If it is not humid the roots go brown and die if out in the air (air pruning) Just a thought

Tony
Regards Tony

"The problem with quotes found on the Internet is that it's hard to be sure of their authenticity." Abraham Lincoln
daiviet_nguyen
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines, Ficuses, Maples, Azaleas
Bonsai Age: 15
Bonsai Club: None

Post by daiviet_nguyen »

Hi John,

It is very satisfying seeing roots come out like that -- even on somebody's else tree :) Did you just separate it this January?

If so, are you worrying about the summer heat?

Best regards.
MattA
Banned
Banned