JBP from seed - progression

Post photo's of your bonsai under-construction for discussion and inspiration.
The Surgeon
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pinus & Figs
Bonsai Age: 11
Bonsai Club: Geelong

JBP from seed - progression

Post by The Surgeon »

Hi all

I am new to Japanese Black Pines, prior to last winter I did not own a JBP, therefore I decided to buy seeds online. I don't know why, but I ended up buying 150 JBP seeds from The Seed Vine on ebay. The Seed Vine actually ended up sending about 160 seeds.

Late August 2020
I followed the instructions provided, refrigeration; soaking etc. I then placed the seeds in seed trays. 144 seeds in two of these contraptions and the rest in an open seed tray.
seedtray.jpg
The seeds that didn't sink (approx 10), I planted anyway but they did not germinate - as expected.

Of the remaining approx 150seeds about 120 germinated. The seeds in the covered trays sprouted significantly (weeks) prior to the open tray. I then lost all of the seedlings in the open tray to birds. As they sprout the seed husk remains on the foliage and the birds try to eat which ends up having the whole seedling plucked from the tray. (Note to self - keep trays covered)

I expect that I could have been more successful in germination if I didn't plant some seeds so deep????? :palm:

Media: I used propagating sand in the seed trays.

11 October 2020
Once the seeds were of sufficient size I moved them to 100mm pots
first pot.jpg
Media: a blend approx 50:50 standard bonsai mix from Damian at Ology and some commercial potting mix I had laying around.

After approx 2 weeks I began fertilising with Osmocote with a NPK of 21.2/1.9/5.7; Seamungus and fortnightly feeds of Powerfeed.

Over these past 6 months I have lost a few. Some decided they didn't want to play anymore; I lost about 4 to birds knocking pots off my benches when I was away during a very warm weekend.

I now have 96 JPB

30 April 2021

Some Examples
JBP1 .jpg