HELP Trident Maple & Japanese Maple Problems

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
MrBean16
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Japanese Maple
Bonsai Age: 1

HELP Trident Maple & Japanese Maple Problems

Post by MrBean16 »

Im a newbie at the bonsai thing and i need help with my two trees. The Trident Maple has black spots and the leaves are drying out and falling off. I have sprayed with them both with rose spray cause of the black dots and the Japanese Maple had powdery mildew. Now the Japanese Maple has one leaf with the black spots but otherwise looks ok and some advice on placement and watering would be greatly appreciated.
Watto
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Plum
Bonsai Age: 0
Bonsai Club: Goulburn Bonsai Society

Re: HELP Trident Maple & Japanese Maple Problems

Post by Watto »

A photo would help with the diagnosis if you have one?
Check out my blog at http://www.ausbonsai.com.au/blog/Watto" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
MrBean16
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by MrBean16 »

Here are some photos
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

Are those pots sitting in trays of water?
The black spots do look like a fungal problem but the scorched ends of the leaves might be caused by rotting roots. Damage looks very similar to scorch from being too dry. Is it possible they were dry, even for a few hours recently?

It looks like these are outside. Maples do need fresh air and sunshine. :tu:

Can I see white marks on the leaves. Not sure if it is really there or just a trick of the photo? Where does your water come from?
http://shibuibonsai.com.au/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
MrBean16
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan