Chinese Elm natural field style

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
TimS
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Japanese Maple
Bonsai Age: 9
Bonsai Club: Waverly Bonsai Group

Chinese Elm natural field style

Post by TimS »

Greetings all

This is my first time sharing one of my bonsai trees on the forum other than those few i have sold; not because i'm necessarily over-protective of their existence (all my tress go on my instagram) but because I've only been practicing bonsai for about 4 years so i don't feel i can lay much claim to these trees since my involvement with them has been relatively short.

I don't rightly know the age of this tree, though the head guy at my local bonsai nursery estimated 15-20 years perhaps erring more towards 20. It stands at about 75cm tall, and as you will see it had the main structure in place when i took ownership of it. This tree is very special to me, as soon as i saw this tree it captured my imagination. For weeks afterward i would go to this nursery and look at this tree until finally after about a month of going to visit this tree i took the plunge and purchased it. What this tree stirred in me was that it is very much a miniature replication of a full size Chinese Elm in nature and it just spoke to me in a way few trees that aren't masterpieces do .

I am hoping to get some ideas on how to take this tree to the next level, some fresh pairs of eyes on it as i have been looking at this tree for a year and just working on ramification and widening the canopy further in that time. Ideally i would like to show this tree at some point, though I've no idea about how you actually go about entering a tree in a show, but i have no idea if this is the tree would be acceptable for a show either having never participated in one and only ever seen exceptionally high quality tress in shows.