Trident maple help

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
kasversky
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Bougainvillea
Bonsai Age: 1

Trident maple help

Post by kasversky »

Hello, I'm new to the bonsai care. I have had this trident maple bonsai for about 4 months now and the leaves started to brown. I'm not sure if it's due to high levels of sunlight or too much water.

Recently changed factors:

I've recently changed position to take in more sunlight

Water takes a while to pass through (soil is too compact?), perhaps root rot?

thank you in advance
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Stu
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Maple
Bonsai Age: 19
Bonsai Club: Vic Native BC

Re: Trident maple help

Post by Stu »

Welcome aboard kasversky.
First, the leaves look more like Acer ginnala (Amur maple). Similar to another newbie recently. :lost:
That aside, an indication of your location helps. In Melbourne increasing sunshine at this time of the year is a good idea.
You can take the plant out of the pot and look at the roots to check for rot. It is not a good time to repot and change potting mix until July but you could try potting up into a deeper pot short term to guard against future rot if you think that is an issue. If water takes some time to pass through don't water until the soil dries a bit. Check the moisture in the soil. Is it penetrating?
If it is a Trident, they are pretty tough. Good luck.
Stu
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

Root rot seems to be the automatic culprit far any bonsai that is not looking well.
In my experience root rot is actually quite rare.