Acer Negundo

Forum for discussion of Deciduous bonsai – Maples, Crabapple, Hornbeam, Elm species etc.
Jester
Hi there crazy kids!!!
Hi there crazy kids!!!
Favorite Species: Serissa,Prunus,Cotoneaster,Fukien Tea,(In that Ord
Bonsai Age: 5

Acer Negundo

Post by Jester »

Hi there crazy kids!!! I would like to know if anyone has tried to bonsai a box elder?? How did you go? Were you able to achieve any degree of leaf reduction :?: :?:

Any pictures would be much appreciated :P

John

P>S> Is any special care required for this type of tree?? :geek:
This message has been created with 100% recycled electrons
anttal63
Bend me twist me
Bend me twist me
Bonsai Age: 14
Bonsai Club: MYCLUB

Re: Acer Negundo

Post by anttal63 »

HI jester, im in my second year of growing seedlings. The corky bark is what attracted me to these trees originally. How ever they are very course in their growth and will need to be large trees. I'm yet to play with defoliation and cant answer on leaf reduction at this point. They do like the deeper grow pots and water this year. Last year they hit the brakes early and did not move again until last spring. This year they seem to be powering on. :D 8-)
Regards Antonio:
Jester
Hi there crazy kids!!!
Hi there crazy kids!!!
Favorite Species: Serissa,Prunus,Cotoneaster,Fukien Tea,(In that Ord
Bonsai Age: 5

Post by Jester »

Thanks Antony, thankyou for the info mate
This message has been created with 100% recycled electrons
Ron
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Natives & Various
Bonsai Age: 1
Bonsai Club: Nepean Bonsai Society

Post by Ron »

These seedlings pop up everywhere around here and are considered weeds. I've got a couple of collected seedlings growing, one in the ground that's about 2m tall and another one about 5 inches that I found growing out of a hole in the old septic tank and which is a plastic pot.

I've not been able to get either of them to branch: they just grow straight up and don't look very interesting to me.