Collected Olive

Forum for discussion of Evergreen bonsai – Buxus, Cotoneaster, Olive etc.
PWC
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: crepe myrtle/juniper
Bonsai Age: 2

Collected Olive

Post by PWC »

G'day all,
I'm new to Ausbonsia and have been Impressed by the way the members encourage and share their knowledge and ideas. I have collected this olive and I know it has no particular redeeming features but it was due to be destroyed so I grabbed it. Not sure if it will survive, I have read here that they do take a while to recover. It was dug out in January this year, I flat cut the root ball and put it into a basic potting mix. It has been sitting in a shaded area getting about 3 hrs of afternoon sun a day.

The good news is I haven't seemed to have killed it yet. My question is should I now move it into full sun as the weather is now cooling of in S.A.

Any suggestions that may help it progress would be appreciated.

Peter.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Peter.
Matt S
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Olive
Bonsai Age: 30
Bonsai Club: S.A. Bonsai Society, Victorian Native Bonsai Club

Re: Collected Olive

Post by Matt S »

Hi Peter,

Yes you should move it into the full sun. Regular doses of Seasol will help encourage new roots.

Other than that, not much more to do but wait and let it grow unheeded. Spring would be a good time to see where the new shoots are and make some design decisions.

cheers,
Matt.
PWC
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan

Post by PWC »

thanks for the feedback Matt much appreciated.

Peter
Peter.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC

Post by shibui »

Agree that is probably time for a bit more sun. 3 hours afternoon sun should be enough to have hardened the leaves enough to cope but don't worry too much if a few of the existing leaves do burn a little.