JBP - Always Be Wiring

Forum for discussion of Pines, Junipers, Cedar etc as bonsai.
Matt S
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Olive
Bonsai Age: 30
Bonsai Club: S.A. Bonsai Society, Victorian Native Bonsai Club

JBP - Always Be Wiring

Post by Matt S »

I've been wiring like a madman the last few weeks, mostly pines and junipers in an attempt to bring a few of my trees under control and push them to a better standard i.e. stop stuffing around and wire every branch and do it properly.

This JBP is a prime example. The main branches were wired about 3 years ago and since then I've just been concentrating on getting the whole needle reduction process happening (I'm relatively new to the proper techniques for pines :whistle: ) but now I'm thinking it'll be ready for a proper pot in a few years so let's get it looking nice.

It took about 4 hours to wire the whole thing, luckily I enjoy wiring!
JBP May 2019 before wiring.jpg
JBP May 2019 after wiring.jpg
Matt.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ryceman3
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines & Mels
Bonsai Age: 7

Re: JBP - Always Be Wiring

Post by Ryceman3 »

Matt S wrote:stop stuffing around and wire every branch and do it properly..
Yeah ... it really does make a big difference doesn't it - your before/after images are proof of that. It takes a long time but it is time well spent. Your pine is looking the goods because of it!
:yes:
Gerard
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: pines
Bonsai Age: 16
Bonsai Club: BSV, Northwest, Northern Suburbs, VNBC

Post by Gerard »

Sit back and look what you have acheived! This is why bonsai gives you pleasure
...........OK
.... that is enough sitting back
....find another tree to work on.
Q: Why are we all here?
A: Because we are not all there.
shibui
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: trident maple
Bonsai Age: 41
Bonsai Club: Albury/Wodonga; BSV; Canberra; VNBC