Sick Azalea

Forum for discussion of Flowering and fuiting bonsai - Azalea, Serissa, Apricot etc.
Raging Bull
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines
Bonsai Age: 5
Bonsai Club: Gold Coast-Tweed

Sick Azalea

Post by Raging Bull »

A few months ago I picked up this azalea from the "Specials" table at Bunnings. It wasn't very healthy but for $3 I thought "give it a go" to see if I could revive it. I re-potted it into a slightly larger pot with a free draining mix of 60% cheap potting mix, 30% perlite and 10% coarse washed river sand. Since then there's been no real change. Obviously it's lacking something , but I don't know what. :lost: It's the only azalea I've got and I have no experience with azaleas. It's been watered and fertilized regularly with my other trees, but still isn't improving. :( Any helpful ideas or hints would be appreciated.
Azalea leaves.JPG
2020.04.02 e.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
anthonyW
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Figs,Pines.
Bonsai Age: 0

Re: Sick Azalea

Post by anthonyW »

Looks like lacebug they suck all the chlorophyll out of the leaves..your images are blurry to me so thinking that way for as best I can make out.
rodm
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Favorite Species: Pines junipers and others
Bonsai Age: 40

Post by rodm »

Yep you need to get rid of the lace bug. If you can find some confidor that will done the trick, but you might have to find an alternative. It supposed to to be banned, apparently it’s not good for the bees. Don’t feed it too much while using it. :lost: the alternative is, for what’s worth, maybe bin the plant and buy a healthy azalea :imo:
Cheers RodM
Phil Rabl
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Aussie Bonsai Fan
Bonsai Age: 20
Bonsai Club: Canberra, Ballarat, VNBC

Post by Phil Rabl »